How to turn negativity into motivation?

It is okay if we have negative emotions [1], they tell us that things are not right. We could use the negative emotions to our advantages.

Instead of sharing or advertising our negative feelings (not all people are empathetic), we could learn some strategies to make positive uses of them.

***
Use our grief to nurture gratitude.

Sprinkled with sadness, I felt blessed for the moments I had and the unexpected gifts that [my relationships] gave.” Lynne Hughes. She lost her mother and father when she was 9 and 12 years old, respectively. Later, she became Founder of Comfort Zone Camp for Grieving Children.

***
Use our anger as energy to drive creativity.

According to a study by Ghent University, people who stared the day with negative emotions but ended it with positive ones had high creative output.

***
Use our envy as energy to better ourselves.

Often what we are envious are others, are signs that we need a sense of belonging, a sense of accomplishment, or a sense of adventure.

***
Convert pessimism and worry into productivity.

According to Adam Grant of Wharton, defensive pessimists (those who tend to visualize what could go wrong) perform as well as strategic optimists in diverse tasks.

***

[1] In summer 2017, I often felt sad and angry. Perhaps, I read too many news, which are negative, and had to see people who hurt me daily. Additionally, my sporty father was hospitalized and I could not visit her without bringing Little Princess, but bringing her means that we may cause more work for my parents, as I do not know how to drive; one needs to drive in my parents’ town for safety reasons.

Leave a Reply

