What are quick and easy soup recipes?

Since one of my former mentors (bosses) commented that my current assignment in Spring 2017 as “one hell of a lot of [insert any form of working e.g. presenting, reviewing, reading, attending meeting, etc]…:-(“, I must be smarter and more creative in supplying my body with nutrients.

Like oatmeal [2], fenugreek (methi), sesame seed, water, barley water (increases the quantity of breast milk), soup may help sustaining/increasing breastmilk production, as my postpartum experience suggested that daily intake of soup was correlated with an adequate supply of milk.

Breastfeeding mums should be drinking at least 2 liters of fluids daily. Some mothers may need to drink more water each day“, especially for a mother like me because I observe that I need to drink more water than average people while not breastfeeding.

Here are some quick and easy soup recipes:

  1. egg tomato soup. Ingredients: tomato + egg (low heat, stir) + salt + sesame oil (add after cooked for flavor) [3]
  2. chicken soup. Ingredients: chicken thighs + ginger + salt. Methods: use slow cooker over night or throughout the day [1] / a rice cooker 1 hr (after boiled, remember to tilt the lid to prevent spill).
  3. chicken mushroom soup. Ingredients: chicken thighs + mushroom + salt. Methods: I used slow cooker for at least 6 hrs on 20170210 because I saw Holland white button mushrooms on offer for only AED 10 / 500g
  4. chicken soup with papaya [5]
  5. herbal soup using quick-to-prepare ingredients or pre-packed herbals e.g. bazhen soup (my first one on 20170113 in the year 2017 after pumping milk for Little Princess)
  6. ABC soup using a rice cooker.
  7. Chinese cabbage soup using a rice cooker.
  8. beetroot soup [4].

***

[1] On 20170114, at 9.30 am, I started preparing to cook for ginger chicken soup for my dinner using a slow cooker (a crook). I blanched 4 thighs of chicken that I bought yesterday. I used organic ginger, though it is more expensive but I save time for not needing to peel its skin. I broke it into thumb-like size, and if it’s still big, I used knife to partly sliver it so that the flavor will be out into the soup.

[2] Oatmeal is also gentle on our empty stomach.

[3] On Good Friday 2017 (20170414), Little Prince learned to cook egg tomato soup ala mama (see ref2017/eat_cook*.txt)

[4] On 20170813, I used an organic beetroot and a rice cooker to cook a warming dinner. Ingredients: 1 beetroot + 2 carrots + 4 chicken drumsticks (remember to deskin) + 2 cloves of garlic + 1 thumb of ginger. No need to add salt as beetroot itself will make the soup slightly salty.

Tips:

I was inspired to add garlic to the soup after enjoying my mother’s soups in summer 2017.

20170822 version of beetroot soup (cooked using an old slow cooker for 20170823): 1 organic beetroot + 2 carrots + 2 cloves garlic + 7 walnuts. Simple! Note: Perhaps, I added too many walnut as the soup tasted slightly bitter.

***

[5] Depending on the availability of ingredients, I have used slightly different recipes.

20171002 version of chicken papaya soup: unripened papaya from Malaysia (I used ~ 2 grown-up female wrists size) + ~ 400g of skinless chicken + 4 slices of ginger + 2 garlic cloves + 6 red dates. After cooking, I did not add a pinch of salt as I usually did since the soup was pretty flavorful!

20171004 version of chicken papaya soup: ~ 500 g of papaya from India (9.95 dhms/kg, it’s seedless and cheaper than the papaya from Malaysia and Thailand) + 3 skinless chicken thighs (~200g) + 4 slices of ginger + 6 red dates. I used a slow cooker for at least 4 hrs. Tips (via Little Princess’ maternal grandmother who assisted in my confinement after delivering Little Princess): to shorten the cooking process, we could use boiled water instead of water at room temperature.

 

2 comments

  1. […] I cooked a soup of chicken + beetroot + carrot for dinner and eight treasure soup (八珍汤) [1] for tomorrow’s drink. The warm beetroot […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

