How to persevere?

On 20161209, after the first skype with Little Princess, I thought of the following: You don’t know how persevered you can be until you have no other choices but being persevered.

One of Little Prince’s favorite story in Summer 2016 was XiaoWanDou, the little bean that persevered in a foreign land, continued to live regardless of the harshness of the environment, and inspired a sick little girl to recover from her illness.

When I was co-leading teams of people raising a fund of 6 digits in $, a university staff praised me for being persevered.

During my undergraduate convocation’s ceremony, the valedictorian shared about her 3Ps that helped sustain her in study: passion, perseverance, and patience.

We need to persevere in many, if not all critical, moments of our lives.

To persevere,

  1. prioritize our people and our values
  2. think of people whom we love and/or who love us [1]
  3. visualize (imagine) the destinations/results, while enjoying the process
  4. Pray as though everything depended on God; work as though everything depended on you [2], as we learned from Saint Augustine

***

[1] After a major abdominal surgery in Autumn 2016, I was determined to resume wearing my retainers that I have been wearing daily except under certain circumstances after my braces after a return from Canada. At that time, the cost of orthodontics was relatively high but my father was willing to spend for me, whereas in 2016 he suffered from toothache for engaging a non-dentist for his false teeth, in order to save $. Thinking of his love made me persevere to wear the retainers.

[2] On 20150318, I learned about the persevering widow from Luke 18:1-8. “Of all the mysteries of the prayer world, the need for persevering prayer is one of the greatest.”

Leave a Reply

