What is your gratitude list for Summer 2016?

While “Schopenhauerian claim that our lives lack meaning because we are invariably dissatisfied; either we have not yet obtained what we seek, or we have obtained it and are bored,” I choose to embrace gratitude + creativity + productivity as ways of living.

“What is good for us on a personal level, what’s going to bring more joy, gratitude, effectiveness in our lives and be the best for our own careers is also what is best for the world” ~ Arianna Huffington

Gratitude can help us to cope with the feelings of overwhelmed and fatigue as I experienced on 20160608 after long commutes and troubleshooting a printer that does not work.

Thus, I consciously reflect on and write a gratitude list.

For Summer 2016, I am grateful for:

  1. a safe flight to see family
  2. Little Prince growing smarter and embracing his role as a big brother
  3. Little Princess on the way
  4. Father-in-law shopping food, peeling fruits for us
  5. Mother-in-law cooking nutritious soup and home-cooked dishes [1]
  6. our income hitherto
  7. opportunities for Honey Panda
  8. more weeks with Little Prince
  9. kind people giving their seats on public train rides to #pregnantHappyGreenPanda [3]
  10. safe taxi rides where the accident rates are relatively high in the desert

[1] Due to my pregnancy-associated challenges, I am sensitive to low quality ingredients e.g. oils being used for outside food.

[2] This gift of time is possible through a well-prepared plan since January 2016 and the kindness of a previous mentor. To live a successful life, planning and executing are prerequisites.

[3] It seems that the ratio of people who choose to focus on their phones/tablets to these kind people follows the Pareto’s Law (80:20), hence I try to say my second “thank you” to them if I see them again before I get down from the train.

20160610

One comment

  1. […] Count our blessings. I created and continued adding items to my gratitude spreadsheet [2] and reflect regularly e.g. my gratitude list for Summer 2016. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

