What can we learn about Nepal from Shanghai Expo 2010 and beyond?

"When I had been a while on shore after my fourth voyage; and when, in my comfort and pleasures and merry-makings and in my rejoicing over my large gains and profits, I had forgotten all I had endured of perils and sufferings, the carnal man was again seized with the longing to travel and to see foreign countries and islands." ~ The Seven Voyages of Sindbad from The Arabian Nights

A night-by-night, I am trying to visit at least a country virtually as inspired from Shanghai Expo 2010. It would be a bonus when I experience the country in my dream.

For Shanghai Expo 2010, the eternal flame of peace from Lumbini, where Buddha was born, was brought by the Lumbini-Shanghai-Rally.

The Nepal Pavilion was named Araniko Center after a Nepalese arhitect Araniko (1244-1306) who had a sober adult-like temperament at age 7, came to China at age 17 and later contributed to the trans-Himalayan architecture of White Stupa (白塔寺) of Miaoying Temple, 171 Fuchengmen Inner St, Xicheng, Beijing, China. In summer 2016, after a visit to the White Stupa, we arrived at 西四北三条–程砚秋故居(The Former Residence of Mr. Cheng Yanqiu) and was surprisingly welcomed by his son who served us high quality Chinese tea. Both places are within walking distance.

I have not encountered many people from Nepal.

Once, a direct boss whom I worked for after I earned my graduate degree brought us to dine at a Nepalese restaurant situated in Little India.

In autumn 2015, the cleaning lady who was responsible for the toilet that I use most often at workplace, hailed from Nepal. She looks a little bit Thai, a little bit Filipina, but not Indian.

The cleaning lady whom I photographed at a public toilet in Hong Kong was also from Nepal. She smiled for me.

In my last year of undergraduate study, once I ate with a Nepalese graduate student. She was quiet but friendly when I approached her.

This year, I also enjoyed the scenery and mountains of Nepal, the serene valleys of Gorkha, before the 2014 devastating earthquake.

However, I learned that it is not easy to be a girl and a woman in some parts of Nepal. Some traditions can be very confining and harmful.

20150917

Leave a Reply

