What are your dream destinations?

It is good to travel and live globally because “historically, immigrant groups tend to experience upward mobility in America until the third generation, and then, for reasons unknown, tend to level off.” Maureen Callahan

SpainPortugalMorocco as inspired by The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho via a Taiwanese UBC senior who made it to MIT.

BeijingMongoliaTrans-SiberiaSaint Petersburg as inspired by a summer @ Tsinghua University.

ArgentinaAntarctica as inspired by Evita Peron musical by Madonna and the not-yet-successful application to BP expedition.

On our flight that landed on 20160520, I watched an inspiring 2015-documentary entitled La glace et le ciel and directed by Luc Jacquet. The cast include Claude Lorius, a French glaciologist and the first scientist to be concerned about global warming (since 1965), through his discovery and interpretation of the palaeo-atmosphere information within ice cores. Compared to our Mother Nature, I feel so tiny in length scale and time scale.

On 20160522, Little Prince and Honey Panda were reading (or browsing) newspapers in hard copy (thanks to Little Prince’s grandfather who prefers traditional ways), and admiring Patagonia. I encouraged Little Prince to grow stronger because one needs to be physically fit to visit the land of harsh conditions, but majestically beautiful and was described as the land of ice, wind, white rainbows.

On 20160622, I woke up at 3.30am, had a breakfast at 4am and suddenly remembered a friend’s birthday. I have known him since 2016, and with a common friend from Vietnam, once we imagined the possibility of doing our bucket list (see ref2015/bucket_list_trip*.txt). I shared with them that I want to see aurora, stargaze, dress up as our favourite heroes or heroines [1], visit Galapagos Islands, admire travertine lakes (e.g. Jiuzhaigou 九寨沟 and Huanglong 黄龙 in Sichuan, China) in autumn, and fly in our Vietnamese’s friend’s helicopter!

While most people will always need to work to take care of ourselves and our dependants, I find it essential to use our bucket lists [2] to reflect who we are (知己), what we value and want in this life. “What I do today is important because I am exchanging a day of my life for it.” ~ Hugh Mulligan

We can travel a long way and do many things, but our deepest happiness is not born from accumulating new experiences. It is born from letting go of what is unnecessary, and knowing ourselves to be always at home.” ~ Sharon Salzberg

a home where my loved ones and I can learn about our world safely, regardless where our home is geographically situated. How’s about making the world our home? While pregnant with Little Princess, we conceived the plan to travel the world as a family.

[1] Little Prince also enjoys dressing up and playing “grown-ups” (see Asia2016/20160612*jpg). As of 20160622, I have dressed up as a Santarina, and wish to dress up as a Snow White. Whose are your heroes and heroines?

[2] see  ref2016/bucket_list*20160622.pdf

20061231
20150912

8 comments

  1. […] ~ 1 of my dream destinations. French Riviera ~ I visited there once to celebrate a birthday and met wonderful people including […]

    Like

  2. […] also remember before we got married, I once told Honey Panda my top 3 dream journeys at a New Year’s Eve, in front of a 5-star hotel holding a bunch of left-over balloons. Two of […]

    Like

  3. […] delicious food worldwide, many times thanks to promotional vouchers and coupons. I also dream of visiting Antarctica and a family trip around the […]

    Like

  4. […] delicious food worldwide, many times thanks to promotional vouchers and coupons. I also dream of visiting Antarctica and a family trip around the […]

    Like

  5. […] having done the trans-Siberian rail journey, the longest railway in the world which has been one of my dream destinations [1], in spite of being considered as the most boring by some people. Perhaps, the rail journey will […]

    Like

  6. […] to see the world, as the benefits of study and work. I am still dreaming and planning to visit my dream destinations, either solo or with our family. In 2016, we did not travel to new countries much as I planned in […]

    Like

  7. […] in Europe over the weekends or short few days, yet I had not visited Russia or Spain, ones of my dream destinations. These days, one need to be more careful than ever while […]

    Like

  8. […] Trans-Siberian train ride as inspired by Dr Zhivago since before 2007. It has been a part of one of my top three dream journeys. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

